The 4 different OTR tyre types

The ISO (International Standard Organisation), the ETRTO (European Tyre and Rim Organisation), the TRA (Tire and Rim Association) and the JATMA (Japan Automobile Tyres Manufacturers) validated the TRA as an international benchmark. The 4 OTR tyre types in question are shown below; and are reflected in the first letter(s) of the TRA code.

C = Compactor
G = Grader
E = Earthmoving
L = Loader and bulldozer

Within these 4 tyre types, there are also different tread depths and tread patterns, for very specific uses. These differences are indicated by a number. The choice of this number should be based on 2 important factors:

  1. The type of ground;
  2. The tyre's condition of use.

There are 6 different tread depths.

1 Ribbed (normal tread depth)4 Deep (deep tread depth)
2 Traction (normal tread depth)5 Very deep (very deep tread depth)
3 Normal (normal tread depth)7 Flotation (normal tread depth)

Within Magna Tyres we use the table below to indicate the difference between the patterns. To find out more about the different patterns, you must read the blog about tread patterns and tread depths. The letter ‘S’ indicates a smooth tread, for example: L5S.

OTR tread patterns

More information?

Would you like to receive more information and news updates on OTR tyres? Subscribe to our newsletter!

Get in touch with us.

For sales requests and questions about our products and services, please contact Magna Tyres Group.